The Road to Macaron – Part 1

27 Jul

I love macrons.  I have for years.  Before all this nonsense about them being the new cupcake.

What?

A cupcake is a cupcake.  And I know cupcakes.

A macaron is something else entirely.

Firstly, macarons are a sort of meringue sandwich.  A delicious one.  They come in many different flavours, and believe me, I have sampled some of the best.

A cupcake is…well, everyone knows what cupcakes are.  If you don’t, please leave your details and I will enlighten you.

Anyway, macarons have simply become too mainstream these days.  Every corner cafe and brunch spot are doing them.  Most do not even warrant a first look, let alone a second.  Now, I know this sounds pretentious.

I am a snob about two things in this life – coffee and macarons.

Indulge me.

With all of this in mind, I now want to make my own macarons.  They’ll probably be a disaster, but hey, the term “steep learning curve” comes to mind.

First, I’d better learn how to make meringues…stay tuned.

Meringues!

 

3 Responses to “The Road to Macaron – Part 1”

  1. eof737 September 24, 2011 at 7:10 am #

    I agree with you, a cupcake is not a macaron and I love macarons too… 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On Food: Let Them Eat Macarons… | Mirth and Motivation - September 23, 2011

    […] The Road to Macaron – Part 1 (crissybakes.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Macaron Parlour: Pâtisserie Par Excellence | Mirth and Motivation - September 7, 2011

    […] The Road to Macaron – Part 1 (crissybakes.wordpress.com)

    Like

Leave a Reply

